Friday, February 1, 2013

Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet

Author:  Darynda Jones
Series:  Charley Davidson, Book 4
Year: 2012
Publisher:  Macmillian Audio
Narrator: Lorelei King

Goodreads Description:
Sometimes being the grim reaper really is that. Grim. And since Charley’s last case went so awry, she has taken a couple months off to wallow in the wonders of self-pity. But when a woman shows up on her doorstep convinced someone is trying to kill her, Charley has to force herself to rise above. Or at least get dressed. She quickly realizes something is amiss when everyone the woman knows swears she’s insane. The more they refute the woman’s story, the more Charley believes it.
In the meantime, the sexy, sultry son of Satan, Reyes Farrow, has been cleared of all charges. He is out of prison and out of Charley’s life, as per her wishes and several perfectly timed death threats. But his absence has put a serious crimp in her sex life. While there are other things to consider, like the fact that the city of Albuquerque has been taken hostage by an arsonist, Charley is having a difficult time staying away. Especially when it looks like Reyes may be involved. Just when life was returning to normal, Charley is thrust back into the world of crime, punishment, and the devil in blue jeans.

OMG! I absolutely love this series. Charley is such a great heroine. In this book, however, Charley is having issues dealing with the fallout from book three and is in a deep, dark place. Plus, now that Reyes is a free man, he's showing up everywhere. Jones is doing a wonderful job of developing the characters book by book. Each book shows Charley learning more about her powers and her friends and family learning more about Charley's powers.

As always, Lorelei King is a terrific narrator. I highly recommend these audiobooks as they will make any task pass more quickly.


Post a Comment